Risk Control - Safety Grants

Risk Control Safety Grants

Source: Apryl Cordell
The Florida Municipal Insurance Trust has established a Matching Safety Grant Fund Reimbursement Program to assist FMIT members’ safety and health program efforts. The Grant funds may be used to purchase certain protective equipment, safety & health training, safety program and process needs, or physical items that will reduce, control or eliminate potential losses or injuries.
Over the years this FMIT program has been able to reimburse members over 1 million dollars. This year the FMIT will be able to fund $250,000 of members’ activities and materials relative to safety and health.
The following members have been awarded safety grants for the 2012-2013 fund year: 
Alachua County BCC
City of Altamonte Springs
City of Atlantis
City of Blountstown
City of Bowling Green
City of Callaway
City of Chiefland
City of Cocoa
City of Cocoa Beach
City of Crystal River
City of Dade City
City of Dunedin
East Flagler Mosquito Control District
Town of Eatonville
Fort Pierce Utilities Authority
City of Frostproof
Golden Gate Fire Control and Rescue District
Hamilton County BOCC
City of Holmes Beach
Town of Hypoluxo
Town of Indialantic
City of Indian Harbour Beach
Indian River Mosquito Control District
Town of Indian River Shores Public Safety
Town of Jennings
Town of Juno Beach
Town of Jupiter Island
Utility Board of the City of Key West
Lafayette County BOCC
Town of Lake Clarke Shores
City of Live Oak
City of Madison
City of Mary Esther
City of Melbourne
City of Miami Springs
City of Minneola
City of Monticello
City of New Smyrna Beach
City of North Bay Village
City of North Lauderdale
Town of North Redington Beach
City of Oak Hill
Ocean City Wright Fire Control District
Lake County Water Authority
Palatka Gas Authority
City of Palm Bay
Town of Palm Shores
Village of Palm Springs
Town of Pembroke Park
Town of Penney Farms
City of Pinellas Park
Town of Pomona Park
Port Malabar Holiday Park
Town of Redington Beach
Town of Redington Shores
Village of Royal Palm Beach
City of St Augustine (FD)
City of St Augustine Beach
City of Sanford
City of Seminole
City of Sweetwater
City of Tamarac
Taylor County Board of County Commissioners
City of Winter Springs
City of Winter Haven
City of Coral Springs
City of Plant City- Utilities Operations
Destin Fire Control District
Holiday Park Park & Rec District
Liberty County BCC
Town of Lake Park
Islamorada, Village of Islands
Calhoun County BCC
Gasparilla Island Bridge Authority
Escambia County Animal Shelter
City of Panama City Fire Department
City of Bonita Springs
Southwest Ranches VFR
City of Miami Gardens
Charlotte County Airport Authority
Miami Parking Authority
Clerk of the Circuit Court, Pinellas County
If you would like information about submitting an application to the Safety Grant Committee, please click the link below.
If you have read the guidelines and wish to fill out an application, please click on the link below.  
If you have additional questions regarding safety grants, please contact the Risk Control Department at (800) 445-6248, ext. 1758.

Login to access your FMIT Insurance Policies and submit Claims online for Auto, General Liability, Property and Workers Compensation.

Report a Loss


Login Below to Access Property Information.

Florida Municipal Insurance Trust (FMIT)   |    125 E. Colonial Drive, Orlando, Florida 32801
Post Office Box 530065, Orlando, Florida 32853
Phone: (407) 425-9142    |    Toll Free: 1-800-445-6248    |    Fax: (407) 425-9378

© 2014 Florida League of Cities, Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Use